Gardening for Queers Workshop

Gardening for Queers Workshop
Gardening for Queers Workshop

$25.00 / per external_link

Category

When

Saturday 15th October 2022 - 10:00am (ACDT) Adelaide, Broken Hill

9:30am (AEST) Brisbane / 10:30am (AEDT) Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart, Canberra / 7:30am (AWST) Perth / 9:00am (ACST) Darwin

Duration

5 hours

Location

Onsite
QT 67 Spring St, Queenstown

Description

Come on out queer gardeners for this hands-on workshop taking us through the fundamentals of food gardening, from soil to harvest. Gardens provide a gateway to nature, helping us tune in to the bigger cycles of seasonality, climate change, and life and death. For queer and LGBTIQA+ folks, our gardens can provide a haven for self expression, joy, connection with plants, animals and each other. We invite you to join with some fellow queers and share in the delight of gardening. This friendly and inclusive workshop is aimed at beginners but open to any queer and LGBTIQA+ gardeners. We will cover fundamentals including soil and compost, how to make a super low cost and easy garden bed, sowing seeds and planning a year-round harvest. The workshop will include non-obligatory practical activities, and plenty of time to share and ask questions. Our focus in this workshop will be on how we can all grow food, while being realistic and understanding challenges many of us face -- renting and insecure housing, gardening on a budget, working with disability and physical limits, marginalisation and disconnection from community. This inclusive and welcoming workshop about gardening is specifically for those identifying as queer/LGBTQIA+. This workshop is wheelchair accessible. It will be run inside and outdoors. We will have a break halfway through for lunch, and ask that you please bring your own lunch. We will also have tea and coffee available and participants are welcome to take breaks when needed. Please contact us and let us know how we can make this workshop more accessible and welcoming for you. Please also bring a hat, water bottle and gardening gloves if you have them. Ticket information: Full price - please pay this if you are able. Concession - any concession card or general low income. Solidarity ticket - anyone short on funds but keen on gardening. This workshop is being run by Phoebe and Indi from Patch of Plenty. Please get in touch with us with any questions at hello@patchofplenty.com.au.

SIGN IN TO PURCHASE

Become a member (yes, it’s free!) or login to access our live sessions, recordings or purchase products and services.

Comments